Standing for Council Forum

Late last year I hosted a Forum for people interested in running for council in 2016. We had 12 people attend which I was pleased with. I will be hosting another on Monday 22 Feb at 6,30pm at the meeting room at the Library.

The purpose of the Forum is to provide people with more information about what’s involved in standing, what you can expect during the campaign period and what it’s like being a new city councillor.

We will have Electoral Officer Graham Low and Mayor Tim Shadbolt present to speak and answer questions and I will talk briefly about my own experience and a few suggestions.

As I have mentioned before in 2013 only 3 women candidates stood for council. That’s pretty low and I would be keen to see more women stand. I also would like to encourage younger people to stand.

Council should be representative of its community so we need a diverse group of candidates.

So if you are keen, or you know someone who you think would do a great job, come along on the 22nd and find out more. And if that doesn’t suit you get in touch and maybe we can meet up some other time.

I have to say I have really enjoyed all the things I have had a chance to learn and be involved in over the last 2 and a bit years. Its pretty rewarding and I find you get out of it as much as you put in.

You can check out my Facebook page to see a bit more about my journey. https://www.facebook.com/BecAmundsenICC/ 

 

Leave a Reply

